Blackboard Collaborate Ultra (Recordings) - Allow Public Access
By default, Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recordings made within the University of Wisconsin System (including Madison) instances of Blackboard Collaborate Ultra are set to "Allow Public Access," which allows recording owners to access a publicly shareable link. This guide describes how a Teacher could change this setting for a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recording created through the Canvas integration.
Why this Matters
a) Recordings with Allow Public Access disabled can't be automatically copied to Kaltura, and will simply be deleted when the media retention period is up. See UW System's media management process for Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recordings for more information.b) If Allow Public Access is enabled, then Teachers in the Canvas course can use the Recording Options menu (see step 4, below), to copy a guest access link for the recording. This link could be used to share the recording with users outside of the Canvas course. If Allow Public Access is disabled, users who follow the guest access link will get an error saying "This recording isn't available to view."