Web editing - What is the CMS workarea?
A look at the Web content management system workarea.
Once logged into Episerver, you will be redirected back to the last UWL page you were on but with an additional panel for editing options.
Clicking the edit iconwill take you into what we call the workarea.
Inside the workarea is where you'll edit your page content, media assets and blocks. Here's a breakdown of the important utilities in the workarea.
Editable site content
Once inside the workarea, it will look similar to the screenshot below. There are numerous icons across the top. Those icons all have a purpose, but two specific icons detailed below are the most important panels within the workarea. They are the navigation pane and the assets pane.
The page content mirrors what is shown on the actual website, with the addition of outlined areas. These outlined areas are called content zones. All editable page content will be outlined in blue when hovered over. Visit the "see also" section of this article to learn about content zones.
The navigation pane can be seen by clicking on the icon highlighted in yellow below in the upper left-hand corner of the workarea. If you click the icon, you’ll see that the navigation pane contains every UWL page. Most pages for web editors will be padlocked, meaning you won’t be able to edit them. But the structure of the site is still visible as a handy reference for where things are located. Pages with edit permission will not be padlocked and can be selected to edit.
Many editors will not need to use the navigation pane, but it allows you to move quickly between pages you would like to edit and see every page within the UWL website whether it's been activated in the menu or not.
Once open, the navigation pane displays all pages. Next to many pages a + (plus) or - (minus) icon can be seen which expands the page so further content can be accessed. This structure is what creates the page menus. Web editors do not have access to create or delete pages. Web Services must be contacted to assist with. The limited access is a way to prevent accidental page deletes or duplicates. It's a safety/protection measure.
The assets pane can be seen by clicking on the icon on the upper right-hand corner of the workarea as highlighted in yellow below.
The assets pane consists of all content and media for a specific site. The purpose of the assets pane is to allow you to upload documents, images, and other media. Unlike the navigation pane, you do have update, delete and creation access for the assets pane. This means you can create folders to organize your content, you can upload current documents and delete unused or outdated documents. Keeping your media library clean is very important, so delete permissions were enabled. With that said, know that you could cause damage to your site by accidentally deleting your whole media folder. Episerver does a good job of warning and preventing that, but be attentive when managing media. Visit the "see also" section below to learn more about media management.
Clicking the assets pane icon expands the assets pane and you'll notice from the highlight that the assets pane has 2 tabs: Blocks and Media. Blocks is potentially not used by most web editors, so Media is the focus of this pane. Clicking on Media will show a folder structure that is split into areas of campus (ex. Offices/services, Academics, Centers, etc.). If you're unsure where your folder is, work with Web Services to locate your folder.
Pin a pane
Episerver allows web editors to set up their workarea the way they like it on each device they use. If you find yourself using the assets pane or the navigation pane a lot, you can click the pin icon (screenshot below) to keep the pane open at all times. Each time you login, Episerver will remember this preference.