Web editing - How do I publish content?
The various ways content can be made public on the UWL website
While editing in Episerver, the system automatically saves your work as you make changes. Auto-saves are not public. They are a draft. Once you reach a point where you're ready to make your changes public, you'll need to publish.
Publishing page content
If you are editing content that already exists on a page as described in the article Web editing - How do I edit my page content?
, you will need to hit publish to make your changes visible publicly on the website. Episerver will notice if you made changes and remind you to publish. Look for the pulsing blue "Changes to be published". Every page or block you edit requires you to publish. If you are adding a new block to a page, the Publish button is replaced with a Create button. Episerver does not auto save drafts of blocks that are not created yet. so don't spend a lot of time setting up content in a block until you've created it first.
Once you click publish, a panel appears with a few options:
- Publish Changes - will publish changes immediately to the site
- Ready to Publish - will mark the content "ready" with a green identifier. Could be useful for student workers making edits that you'd like to review first before going live
- Schedule for Publish - allows you to schedule the changes to go live on a particular day and hour
- Revert to Publish - Discards the latest draft and takes the version back to the previously published version
Media uploaded to your Assets > Media folder are immediately accessible on the site, they do not need to be published. A media file is only accessible if link to it within your content, however, because search engines are so good at crawling our site for information, consider any documents in your media folder as public. The media library is not meant to be a department file storage.
It's important to keep your media library clean and keep files organized on your computer for easy maintenance.
File naming tip: name your files consistently and remember to overwrite/replace files if it's an update to an in-use media file on your site.